You are here

Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation


The Division of Allergy, Immunology, and Transplantation (DAIT) supports studies of the immune system in health and the cause, pathogenesis, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of disease caused by immune dysfunction.

Director: Daniel Rotrosen, M.D.



A. Asthma, Allergy, and Inflammation Branch. Asthma, atopic dermatitis, hypersensitivity reactions, rhinitis, sepsis, sinusitis, urticaria, basic studies of asthma and allergy mechanisms, new therapies to prevent or treat asthma and allergic diseases, food allergies, epidemiology and prevention, phagocyte biology, eosinophilic gastroenteritis, and mechanisms of host defense. Methodologies to design, manage, and analyze clinical and epidemiologic research of the etiology, prevention, and treatment of asthma, allergy, and inflammatory diseases.

Chief: Dr. Matthew Fenton



B. Basic Immunology Branch. Origin, maturation, and interactions of immune cells, immune cell receptors, ligands, cytokine biology, molecular basis of activation, antigen recognition, immune tolerance, immune response regulation, hematopoiesis and stem cell biology, enhancement of vaccine effectiveness in neonates and adults, and basic immunology of vaccines and immunotherapeutics as medical countermeasures for biodefense.

Chief: Dr. Helen Quill

301-496-7551, Fax: 301-480-2381


C. Clinical Immunology Branch. Preclinical and clinical research to develop and improve therapies for the treatment of autoimmune diseases, primary immune deficiencies (not HIV), basic research of disease mechanisms, and biomarkers, immunotherapy of disease processes, disorders mediated by lymphocyte products, and mucosal immunity.

Chief: Dr. James McNamara

301-451-3121, Fax: 301-480-1450


D. Transplantation Immunobiology Branch. Acute and chronic graft rejection, allogeneic and xenogeneic transplantation, development of immunomodulatory agents to prevent and treat graft rejection, genomics of the alloimmune response, hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, major histocompatibility complex, minor histocompatibility antigens, infectious and malignant complications of immunosuppression in transplantation, and technologies for MHC typing.

Chief: Dr. Nancy Bridges



E. Radiation Countermeasures Program. Radioprotectants, mitigators and therapeutics for acute radiation syndrome or the delayed effects of acute radiation exposure; radionuclide-specific therapies, including chelating agents, blocking agents, and other novel decorporation agents; improved methods of radiation biodosimetry and bioassay for radionuclide contamination; biomarkers of organ-specific radiation injury; therapeutics for radiation combined injury; therapeutics for radiation-induced immunosenescence.

Chief: Dr. Richard Hatchett



US Flag An Official Website of the United States Government