You are here

EMP Protection for Power Grid Control Systems

Award Information
Agency: Department of Energy
Branch: N/A
Contract: DE-SC0018886
Agency Tracking Number: 237351
Amount: $149,983.65
Phase: Phase I
Program: SBIR
Solicitation Topic Code: 05b
Solicitation Number: DE-FOA-0001771
Solicitation Year: 2018
Award Year: 2018
Award Start Date (Proposal Award Date): 2018-07-02
Award End Date (Contract End Date): 2019-04-01
Small Business Information
7001 Shallowford Road
Chattanooga, TN 37321-1716
United States
DUNS: 194646782
HUBZone Owned: No
Woman Owned: No
Socially and Economically Disadvantaged: No
Principal Investigator
 Roger Sanders
 (423) 894-4646
Business Contact
 Janet Donovan
Phone: (423) 894-4646
Research Institution

Complex electronic control networks manage critical infrastructure systems such as the electric power grid across the United States. These networks are subject to failure due to the effects of naturally occurring or man-made electromagnetic pulses. Mitigation of these effects is necessary for the safety and security of our nation. Carbon nanotube based plasma limiters can provide a first line of defense against high energy pulses which are able to damage sensitive electronic circuits. Plasma limiters placed on the power and data lines into the control equipment can prevent the damaging pulses from reaching the semiconductor devices. During Phase I existing plasma limiter technology developed for RF systems in the Department of Defense will be modified to protect AC and DC power sources, data lines and sensor inputs which support the control networks of the electric grid. Modifications include new packaging to interface with each type of power supply, data interface and sensor input. Carbon nanotube geometry and the penning gas mixture which support the plasma formation will be altered to allow the limiter to activate at the proper overvoltage condition for the circuit being protected.

* Information listed above is at the time of submission. *

US Flag An Official Website of the United States Government