SBIR Phase I: Structures for reduced critical current to enable Spin Torque MRAM

Award Information
Agency: National Science Foundation
Branch: N/A
Contract: 0946127
Agency Tracking Number: 0946127
Amount: $149,429.00
Phase: Phase I
Program: SBIR
Awards Year: 2009
Solicitation Year: N/A
Solicitation Topic Code: NM
Solicitation Number: NSF 09-541
Small Business Information
1300 N. Alma School Rd., Chandler, AZ, 85224
DUNS: 827379806
HUBZone Owned: N
Woman Owned: N
Socially and Economically Disadvantaged: N
Principal Investigator
 Nicholas Rizzo
 (480) 347-1158
Business Contact
 Nicholas Rizzo
Title: PhD
Phone: (480) 347-1158
Research Institution
This Small Business Innovation Research Phase I project is aimed at developing a spin torque magnetoresistive random access memory (ST-MRAM) that has significantly reduced write current. The highest bit density is possible if the switching current is low enough to be passed by a minimum sized access transistor beneath each magnetic tunnel junction (MTJ) storage device. Reducing the write current also improves reliability because the smaller current density through the MTJ during the write operation reduces the stress on the thin dielectric tunnel barrier. ST-MRAM has the potential to provide non-volatility, high density, high speed, low power, and unlimited endurance in a single memory. ST-MRAM technology has the potential to meet the need for a high-performance, scalable semiconductor memory while providing benefits in power consumption that are critical in portable electronics and increasingly valued in many other areas, such as enterprise computing. Conventional semiconductor memories like Static RAM, Flash, and Dynamic RAM are facing significant scaling challenges in the coming years and none of them have the unique set of attributes provided by MRAM.

* Information listed above is at the time of submission. *

Agency Micro-sites

SBA logo
Department of Agriculture logo
Department of Commerce logo
Department of Defense logo
Department of Education logo
Department of Energy logo
Department of Health and Human Services logo
Department of Homeland Security logo
Department of Transportation logo
Environmental Protection Agency logo
National Aeronautics and Space Administration logo
National Science Foundation logo
US Flag An Official Website of the United States Government