Fabrication and Test of HTS Coils for the VASIMR Experiment

Award Information
Agency: National Aeronautics and Space Administration
Branch: N/A
Contract: NNJ04JA28C
Agency Tracking Number: 022190
Amount: $599,994.00
Phase: Phase II
Program: SBIR
Awards Year: 2004
Solicitation Year: 2002
Solicitation Topic Code: H7.03
Solicitation Number: N/A
Small Business Information
31 Pierson Dr., Hockessin, DE, 19707-1029
DUNS: 091580501
HUBZone Owned: N
Woman Owned: Y
Socially and Economically Disadvantaged: Y
Principal Investigator
 Dr. Chris Rey
 Principal Investigator
 (302) 494-4048
Business Contact
 Chris Rey
Title: Vice President
Phone: (302) 494-4048
Email: cmrey@tai-yang.com
Research Institution
In the Phase I effort, Tai-Yang Research Corporation (TYRC) proposes to design and perform analyses on state-of-the-art High Temperature Superconducting (HTS) coils for the Variable Specific Impulse Magneto-Plasma Rocket (VASIMR) experiment being conducted at the Advanced Space Propulsion Laboratory (ASPL) at the NASA Johnson Space Center. Using the design results obtained in the Phase I effort, TYRC proposes in Phase II to fabricate, test, and install HTS coils (VX-2 and VX-3) in the existing VASIMR experiment. Replacing the conventional copper coils with state-of-the-art HTS coils in the VASIMR experiment will allow for greater design flexibility and increased operational performance. The HTS replacement coils will be designed to be conduction cooled via a single-stage Gifford-McMahon (G-M) cryocooler, operating at ~ 40 K.

* Information listed above is at the time of submission. *

Agency Micro-sites

SBA logo
Department of Agriculture logo
Department of Commerce logo
Department of Defense logo
Department of Education logo
Department of Energy logo
Department of Health and Human Services logo
Department of Homeland Security logo
Department of Transportation logo
Environmental Protection Agency logo
National Aeronautics and Space Administration logo
National Science Foundation logo
US Flag An Official Website of the United States Government