Improved Microcalorimeter Detectors for X-Ray Chemical Shift Mapping

Award Information
Agency: Department of Commerce
Branch: National Institute of Standards and Technology
Contract: SB1341-12-SE-0592
Agency Tracking Number: 032-68-2012
Amount: $89,970.00
Phase: Phase I
Program: SBIR
Awards Year: 2012
Solicitation Year: N/A
Solicitation Topic Code: N/A
Solicitation Number: N/A
Small Business Information
25 Bisbee Ct, Suite A, Santa Fe, NM, 87508-
DUNS: 071331768
HUBZone Owned: N
Woman Owned: N
Socially and Economically Disadvantaged: N
Principal Investigator
 Robin Cantor
 (505) 424-6454
Business Contact
Research Institution
X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy is a widely used and extremely sensitive analytical technique for qualitative as well as quantitative chemical analysis. Superconducting Transition Edge Sensor (TES) microcalorimeter detectors have now been developed that achieve an energy resolution of 2 eV (full width at half maximum) for 1.5 keV X-rays, which is sufficient to enable the measurement of the small shift of the X-ray line position and line shape that occurs depending on the chemical bonding state of the fluoresced atoms. STAR Cryoelectronics proposes to develop the necessary processes to fabricate improved TES detectors that match this performance and integrate these detectors into the company’s energy dispersive microcalorimeter X-ray spectrometer for chemical shift mapping. This will significantly enhance the power of X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy as an analytical tool for a broad range of applications.

* Information listed above is at the time of submission. *

Agency Micro-sites

SBA logo
Department of Agriculture logo
Department of Commerce logo
Department of Defense logo
Department of Education logo
Department of Energy logo
Department of Health and Human Services logo
Department of Homeland Security logo
Department of Transportation logo
Environmental Protection Agency logo
National Aeronautics and Space Administration logo
National Science Foundation logo
US Flag An Official Website of the United States Government